Review: Various Artists – Freakin Progressive Vol. 1 (EXCLUSIVE MOONFACE MIX PREMIERE)

As Freakin’ 303 prepare for the release of their Freakin’ Progressive Vol 1 mix compilation, The Waveform Transmitter‘s Ste Knight enjoys over an hour of delectable progressive house and offers a FULL PREVIEW of the entire Moonface mix! Get it, inside.

Progressive house is very much de rigueur in 2019. While artists like Nick Warren, Sasha, and John Digweed have all enjoyed a consistent career plying the melodic housetechno hybrid, plenty of artists have popped up much more recently to fan the prog flames. It is for this reason that Freakin’ 303 have stepped up to the plate and are set to release their double mix comp, with Moonface taking up the mantle for mix one, and Real Gone Kid manning the decks for the second in the two-pack.

The double header drops on July 12th, add is packed with four solid hours of divine progressive house. This is a very strong release from the Freakin’ 909 sub-imprint, and we can see this release becoming a summer favourite thanks to the meticulously curated tracklists that range from dreamy, pad-laden house through to romping techno; perfect pre and post-clubbing fodder.

Moonface puts the initial match to the hazy fumes of Max Cue‘s Heal. Many of our readers will recognise the Moonface nomenclature as, among other accolades, Phil was a resident at the infamous Bedrock nights in Brighton, which saw the careers of numerous illustrious prog artists launch from the club, including Danny Howells.

The mix continues in a similarly mellifluous fashion, with Moonface guiding us down a path littered with gems. Names like Sonic Union, Sleazy D, and Nick Warren alongside Tripswitch are rubbing shoulders with Gibbon Records‘ Benwaa and Namatjera throughout this mix which acts as the perfect narrative to tell the Freakin’ story.

You can check out the mix at the top of the page, as we have full exclusivity on Moonface‘s element of the release. You can check out the impressive run-down of artists on the release at the bottom of the page.

Real Gone Kid continues matters, ramping proceedings up a notch for his stint. He has lovingly re-crafted tracks, editing them to create something that is rich in sonics, groove, and snarl, adding a dirtier edge to the progressive sound. Speaking of his mix, RGK says:

“When the guys at Freakin’ asked me to take this on, I’m not ashamed to say I had a few sleepless nights. When Suara tried proggy stuff a few years ago, it nearly ended the label, so I was super aware of this huge seachange in musical styles wouldn’t please everyone. Having Phil [Moonface] involved definitely helps in my opinion and gives it more class. I’m really happy with how it turned out and I want to thank everyone involved who helped to make this happen.”

Freakin’ Progressive Vol 1 is released this Friday (July 12th) via Freakin’ 303 buy it, here. In the meantime, enjoy the amazing Moonface premiere we have here for you at The Waveform Transmitter.

01. Max Cue – Heal
02. Hansgod – How U Feel
03. Namatjira – Whakanga
04. Inkfish – Before The War (Barry Jamieson Remix)
05. Benwaa – Figure You Out (Daniel Klose Remix)
06. Kosmas & Dio S – Reborn
07. Valleraphon feat. Galla – Shine
08. Sonic Union – Dragged Behind
09. Chris Sterio & Sean McCellan – Grace
10. Sleazy D – I’ve Lost Control (Way Out West Remix)
11. Audioglider – Hot Jupiters (Tripswitch Remix)
12. Nick Warren & Tripswitch – Voight Kämpft

Author: Ste Knight

Editor at The Waveform Transmitter. Lover of acid basslines, cavernous kick drums, and dark rooms. Cut his teeth to Surgeon's blistering techno assault at T-Funkshun in Liverpool and hasn't stopped for breath since.

One thought on “Review: Various Artists – Freakin Progressive Vol. 1 (EXCLUSIVE MOONFACE MIX PREMIERE)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.