Mix: Waveform Live 005 – Mr. Velcro Fastener

The latest edition of Ste Knight’s Waveform Live Mix series comes from the incredible Finnish duo, Mr Velcro Fastener, on the back of their latest EP release, Ignorance.

Finnish electro duo, Tatu Metsätähti and Tatu Peltonen, AKA Mr Velcro Fastener, first forged their relationship as a production pair back in 1995. The historical Finnish city of Turku was the location that birthed the Fasteners, gave the electronic music scene something genuinely different, and certainly underground. Their first album in 1999, Lucky Bastards Living Up North, broke the mould in terms of cult electro sound and saw the pair heading off on a tour of  Europe and beyond, allowing them to proliferate their infectious sound amongst Europe’s movers and shakers.

Since then, Mr Velcro Fastener have seen a slew of exciting releases that continue to push the envelope. Their releases have enjoyed the light of day (luckily for us…erm…bastards) on a range of impressive imprints, including Stars-Music, Ali B’s Air Recordings, Solina Records, Cyber Dance and, of course, Billy Nasty’s Electrix, as well as remixes for the likes of Hardfloor, Marco Carola, DK8, Transparent Sound, and Aux88.

The guys heralded their return to Electrix recently, with their first EP for the label in 15 years. Their electro sound is well and truly represented on the EP, with two huge slabs of electronic music for listeners to get their teeth into. The first track on the EP, A Monster in Two Worlds, serves up a delectable slice of electro-funk. Vocoded samples add to the fizzing circuit-board that Mr Velcro Fastener place before us, while the underlying groove of the track makes it perfect for dark, jacking dancefloors. Silicon Scally and M-Twelve (who you will also know as Billy Nasty and Nick Dunton) take on the remix duties of A Monster in Two Worlds.

Bakteriofag (which translates to English as ‘Bacteriophage’), is as representative of its nomeclature as you can imagine. Microscopic, cybernetic bacteria evolve and multiply, as the kick drum presses an agar culture into Velcro Fastener‘s sonic petri dish, swirling samples around in the primordial soup, while acid bends and electronic blips bubble up to the surface, creating the bacteriophage of the title.

We have been lucky enough to secure a live set from Mr Velcro Fastener, which was recorded recently at Kåren XX, which is based in their home town of Turku. Get this one on loud, it is an absolute beast. Not only that, but you’re getting a sneak peek at a totally unreleased track. Bonus!

Mr Velcro Fastener Live at Kåren XX in Turku, Finland – Tracklist

1. Disco Ensemble – ‘Bad Luck Charm (Mr Velcro Fastener Remix)’ (Fullsteam Records)
2. unreleased
3. Mr Velcro Fastener – ‘Johnny’s Wood’ (Cyber Dance Records)
4. Mr Velcro Fastener – ‘Letter From Overseas’ (Time)
5. Mio Tek – ‘My City (Mr Velcro Fastener Remix)’ (Seven Sisters Records)
6. Mr Velcro Fastener – ‘A Monster In Two Worlds’ (Electrix)
7. Mr Velcro Fastener – ‘Brinkkala’ (Cyber Dance Records)

Author: Ste Knight

Editor at The Waveform Transmitter. Lover of acid basslines, cavernous kick drums, and dark rooms. Cut his teeth to Surgeon's blistering techno assault at T-Funkshun in Liverpool and hasn't stopped for breath since.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.