Shobaleader One Weigh in With New Album, Elektrac


Shobaleader One, the brainchild behind which is electronic maestro Squarepusher, are set to release their new album. The Waveform Transmitter’s Ste Knight has the lowdown.

Shobaleader One made headlines back in 2010 as the enigmatic band fronted by Squarepusher, AKA Tom Jenkinson. Jenkinson is a well-respected artist in his own right, having released countless albums under the Squarepusher moniker over a career that spans in excess of 20 years.

Their original album, ‘d’Emonstrator’ was released to critical acclaim, and now, six years on, they plan to release another. The band is made up of Strobe Nazard, Squarepusher, Company Laser, and Arg Nution; the personae of all of whom remain a closely guarded secret (aside from Squarepusher, of course).

‘Elektrac’ is an album that re-imagines some of Squarepusher’s tracks into a ‘live’ setting. Live, in that various elements of the tracks are played by the individual members of the band and then formed into recomposed versions of the originals.

Some of Squarepusher’s biggest tracks are included on the release and cover the whole gamut of styles that he has encompassed over the years, from techno, through drill ‘n’ bass, into breakcore and IDM.

You can listen to the brilliant rework of the 8-bit classic, ‘Journey to Reedham’, below, which originally appeared alongside ‘Come on My Selector’ on the ‘Big Loada’ album. ‘Elektrac’ is due for release on the Warp Records imprint on March 10th.

‘Elektrac’ tracklist:

01. The Swifty
02. Coopers World
03. Don’t Go Plastic
04. Iambic 5 Poetry
05. Squarepusher Theme
06. E8 Boogie
07. Deep Fried Pizza
08. Megazine
09. Delta-V
10. Anstromm Feck 4
11. Journey To Reedham

Author: Ste Knight

Editor at The Waveform Transmitter. Lover of acid basslines, cavernous kick drums, and dark rooms. Cut his teeth to Surgeon's blistering techno assault at T-Funkshun in Liverpool and hasn't stopped for breath since.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.